About the National Library of New Zealand

The National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, is established under its own Act of Parliament. The National Library develops and maintains the Crown’s documentary heritage collections, principally the Alexander Turnbull Library. It ensures the National Library’s collections are accessible, which includes providing use of their collections and resources, as well as supplementing and furthering the work of other libraries across New Zealand. Working collaboratively with other institutions having similar purposes, they are part of the international library community and play a pivotal role in how New Zealanders access information resources, and bibliographic and school services.

The National Library has the following four units:

  • Alexander Turnbull Library
  • Content Services
  • Literacy, Learning & Public Programmes
  • Digital New Zealand

About Archives New Zealand

Archives New Zealand, Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga is the guardian of the record of government. Its holdings include the originals of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, government documents, maps, plans, paintings, film and sound recordings. Archives New Zealand manages the Public Records Act 2005 and works with government agencies to administer the Act, making sure records of government decision making are created and those of long-term value, including digital, are transferred into its care. Its work include providing recordkeeping advice and information to government agencies, making public archives accessible to government departments, other organisations and the public, managing the public archives in a protected and secure environment and providing leadership and support for archival activities across New Zealand.

Archives New Zealand has the following four units:

  • Regional & Access Services
  • Archives Management
  • Government Recordkeeping
  • Māori & Community Archives